Creating my own Server

07/28/2019
Equipment used in this Project.

- Current ASUS Laptop
- Old DELL Laptop
- Windows Server 2016 Software

Today I was able to setup my first ever Server. I have put off doing this for a long time because, I thought it would be something that I might not be able to achieve by myself. I had a copy of Windows Server 2016 and an old laptop which I no longer use, so I decided now would be the perfect time to give it ago as I had nothing to lose.
The installation of the software was relatively straight forward and explanatory. It's remarkably similar to installing Windows 10 onto a machine, it guides you through the process all the way to completion.
Once the Software had installed and I had logged in, I made a few random text files and provided a network share access for my current laptop. My Laptop for anybody who is wondering, it's running Windows 10 Home.
Whilst I feel like this is a major achievement, there is still so much for me to do before it is fully completed. I need to setup the sharing permissions, so that certain profiles on have access to what I want them to see. Also probably most importantly, I need to find a permanent home for my server to live that isn't my kitchen work surface as that is highly inconvenient.
Where to go from here?
I don't really have any use for my own Server, but lets assume for a moment that I wanted to integrate it as part of my long term setup. Running it on an old laptop 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. There's a good chance it won't actually last for longer than a year, as the hardware installed in the machine is already several years old to begin with. So, I need to ensure that all of that data is at least backed up somewhere, and on a regular basis to ensure there won't be any data loss.
It would also be a good idea to look at cost effective planning on an upgrade that meets my needs, for when the current drive does inevitably spin it's last rotation.

As I wrote earlier, it was relatively straightforward to setup and get running, I highly recommend that you give it a go. It's a good way to put knowledge into practice, also if anybody is interested. I may make another post documenting the instructions for a complete setup. E.G. Installing the software, creating user accounts and setting up the network share to another machine.

If I've missed anything please let me know, and I'll amend this post.

Until next time!

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started